Introducing Laura

Laura!

Laura!

Hello, I’m Laura and I am the new over 50s project coordinator at the Abbey Community Centre. I only started a couple of weeks ago but I have met lots of you through Saturday club, CHAPS and drop-ins already, which has been great, and I am looking forward to meeting everyone else over the coming weeks. I am here Monday-Friday helping Maria, Paul and Joanna to coordinate Community Time Camden (CTC), the Kilburn Good Neighbours Scheme, Primrose Hill Neighbours Help and CHAPS, so lots to keep me busy!

Before I started here I worked at various charities and community groups including Shelter and Christian Aid, particularly helping them to fundraise. But I am also involved with organisations like FoodCycle and the Edible Bus Stop that work to make a difference in the local community, which I think is really important.

I love the vibe at the Abbey Centre and am especially excited about Community Time Camden (CTC). I think the idea of sharing skills, time and knowledge amongst your neighbours is such a lovely and useful idea and there is so much potential for the scheme to grow. I live in down the road in Kentish Town and cycle to the centre every day, but I am really enjoying getting to know the Kilburn area and its lovely residents more.

Having listened to what you’ve all been saying, one of my first priorities is getting a gardening group up-and-running this month. If there are any green-fingered folks out there interested in getting involved I would love to hear from you. Just drop me an email or give me a call. Or, even better, pop in and see me at our weekly Thursday morning CTC coffee morning in the Garden Room at Abbey 10.30am-12pm for a chat over a cup of tea and a biscuit (one of my favourite things to do!).

I look forward to seeing you all around the centre and hearing your ideas. And here’s to a warm and sunny summer full of lots of community activities (all this cold and wet is getting boring now!)

07447 932564 or 0203 397 4583  laura@abbeycc-kilburn.org.uk

One thought on “Introducing Laura

Leave a Reply

